CMA Honors Alan Jackson With the “Joe Talbot Award”

CMA Honors Alan Jackson With the “Joe Talbot Award”

The Country Music Association presented Alan Jackson with the Joe Talbot Award during his Opry at the Ryman performance on Jan. 17.

The Joe Talbot Award recognizes “outstanding leadership and contributions to the preservation and advancement of country music’s values and traditions.” Alan is the fourth artist to receive the award, following Merle Haggard (2016, posthumously), George Jones (2015, posthumously) and Marty Stuart (2007).

“That’s pretty good company there with two of my heroes of all time, George and Merle,” said Alan from the Ryman stage. “I wish I could say something special about what I’m doing, but I just did what I liked, and I loved country music.”

The award was created in 2001 and bestowed posthumously to its namesake, Joe Talbot, a lifetime member of the CMA Board of Directors, who passed away in 2000. Additional winners of the award include Janette Carter (2004) and Louise Scruggs (2006).

photo by Tammie Arroyo,


Concert Calendar